Calls for Applications

RFA: The Pacific Islands FinTech Innovation Challenge

  • May 20, 2022

  • Calls for Applications


The Pacific Digital Economy Programme (PDEP) is a joint programme between UNCDF, UNDP and UNCTAD, in support of the development of inclusive digital economies in the Pacific. This unique partnership builds on UNCDF’s long-term work on digital finance in the Pacific region and UNCTAD’s extensive work in the area of e-commerce and the digital economy and is implemented with the administrative support from UNDP. The PDEP includes both country-specific activities, initially focusing on Fiji, Tonga, Samoa, Vanuatu and the Solomon Islands, and region-wide research and capacity building activities.

To help address the challenge of financial inclusion in the Pacific Island Countries (PICs), the United Nations Capital Development Fund (UNCDF) is launching the Pacific Islands FinTech Innovation Challenge. The challenge aims to attract FinTechs to address identified problem statements which represent the challenges faced by Pacific Island Countries in developing the digital payments ecosystem.

The purpose of this Request for Application (RFA) is to invite applications from local and global FinTechs with market-ready solutions that will address at least one of the identified problem statements of the implementing partners in Fiji, Tonga, Samoa, Vanuatu or Solomon Islands that fall within the five areas of interventions mentioned below and are interested in deploying their solutions. Please clearly indicate the areas targeted in your proposal:

  1. Improving access to financial products and service
  2. Digitizing customer service
  3. Increase usage of financial products and services
  4. Streamlining of foreign exchange
  5. Enabling E-Commerce and in-person POS merchant payment services

Selected applicants will be signing a Performance-Based Agreement (PBA) with UNCDF.

Please consult the PBA sample provided in this platform.

For queries write to cc

Candidates must submit their application no later than 23:59 GMT+0 on 20 June 2022.


Submissions using other templates or sent by other electronic or non electronic means will not be eligible.

Other publications in:

Calls for Applications

View publications