

## List of Least Developed Countries (as of June 2017)\*, \*\*

Afghanistan (1971)	
Angola <sup>1</sup> (1994)	
Bangladesh (1975)	V
Benin (1971)	٧
Bhutan (1971)	٧
Burkina Faso (1971)	٧
Burundi (1971)	٧
Cambodia (1991)	٧
Central African Republic (1975)	
Chad (1971)	
Comoros (1977)	
Democratic Republic of the Congo (199	1 <b>)v</b>
Djibouti (1982)	
Eritrea (1994)	
Ethiopia (1971)	٧
Gambia (1975)	
Guinea (1971)	٧
Guinea-Bissau (1981)	
Haiti (1971)	
Kiribati (1986)	
Lao People's Democratic Republic (1971)	<b>V</b>
Lesotho (1971)	٧
Liberia (1990)	V
Madagascar (1991)	V

Malawi (1971)	V
Mali (1971)	V
Mauritania (1986)	
Mozambique (1988)	V
Myanmar (1987)	V
Nepal (1971)	V
Niger (1971)	V
Rwanda (1971)	V
Sao Tome and Principe (1982)	
Senegal (2000)	V
Sierra Leone (1982)	V
Solomon Islands (1991)	V
Somalia (1971)	V
South Sudan (2012)	
Sudan (1971)	
Timor-Leste (2003)	
Togo (1982)	
Tuvalu (1986)	V
Uganda (1971)	V
United Republic of Tanzania (1971)	V
Vanuatu² (1985)	V
Yemen (1971)	
Zambia (1991)	V

**UNCDF Presence: V** 

 $<sup>^{</sup>st}$  The list will be updated when new decisions become available.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Year of inclusion on the list in brackets.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> General Assembly resolution A/RES/70/253 adopted on 12 February 2016, decided that Angola will graduate five years after the adoption of the resolution, i.e. on 12 February 2021.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup>General Assembly resolution A/RES/68/18 adopted on 4 December 2013, decided that Vanuatu will graduate four years after the adoption of the resolution on 4 December 2017. General Assembly resolution A/RES/70/78 adopted on 9 December 2015, decided to extend the preparatory period before graduation for Vanuatu by three years, until 4 December 2020, due to the unique disruption caused to the economic and social progress of Vanuatu by Cyclone Pam.