L’UNCDF dans le monde

Fletcher Chilumpha
National Programme Specialist
fletcher.chilumpha@uncdf.org

MALAWI

L’UNCDF est actif au Malawi depuis 1982. Il œuvre à élargir l’accès aux services financiers pour les populations rurales et à faible revenu.

Aujourd’hui, l’UNCDF propose des modèles de financement « au dernier kilomètre » permettant de débloquer des fonds publics et privés, en particulier au niveau national, afin de réduire la pauvreté et d’encourager le développement économique local.

Dans l’inclusion financière, l’UNCDF déploie le programme Making Access Possible (MAP), qui produit des diagnostics d’inclusion financière ventilés par genre, zone géographique, revenu et autres données démographiques, et encourage l’investissement privé à étendre les taux d’inclusion financière.

Le Malawi est l’un des huit pays où l’UNCDF met en œuvre son programme Mobile Money for the Poor (MM4P), soutenant les banques, les opérateurs et les organismes de réglementation des réseaux mobiles et coopérant avec eux pour les aider à atteindre des millions de clients supplémentaires exclus du système bancaire.

Programmes actifs au Malawi

MAP

Un cadre programmatique et de diagnostic visant à étendre l’accès aux services financiers pour les personnes vivant en milieu rural, les microentreprises et les petites entreprises

En Savoir Plus

MM4P

Soutenir les banques ainsi que les opérateurs et les organismes de réglementation des réseaux mobiles et coopérer avec eux pour les aider à atteindre des millions de clients exclus du système bancaire

En Savoir Plus

Résultats au Malawi

Reportages sur le terrain

Notre Équipe

Lilongwe, Malawi

Fletcher Chilumpha
National Programme Specialist

Where we work

Fletcher Chilumpha
National Programme Specialist
fletcher.chilumpha@uncdf.org

MALAWI

UNCDF has been present in Malawi since 1982, working to expand access to financial services for low-income and rural populations.

Today, UNCDF offers “last mile” finance models that unlock public and private resources, especially at the domestic level, to reduce poverty and support local economic development.

Through Financial Inclusion, UNCDF is implementing Making Access Possible (MAP) programme, which produces diagnostics of financial inclusion disaggregated by gender, geography, income and other demographics, and encouraging private investment into expanding rates and outreach of financial inclusion.

Malawi is also one of the countries where UNCDF implements its Mobile Money for the Poor (MM4P) programme, supporting and cooperating with banks, mobile network operators and regulators to help them reach millions of additional unbanked customers.

From 2010 to 2015, UNCDF piloted YouthStart in partnership with Mastercard Foundation with the objective to increase access to integrated financial services for youth aged 12-24. YouthStart has provided technical and financial assistance to 10 financial institutions in 8 Sub-Saharan countries. By the end of the Programme (2015), YouthStart tripled its targets reaching more than 635,000 youth with financial and non-financial services.

Programmes in Malawi

MAP

a diagnostic and programmatic framework to expand financial access for rural individuals, and micro and small businesses

Read more

MM4P

supporting and cooperating with banks, mobile network operators and regulators to help them reach millions of additional customers who are currently unbanked

Read more

YouthStart

increase access to integrated financial services for youth aged 12-24

Read more

Results in Malawi

STORIES FROM THE FIELD

Our Team

Lilongwe, Malawi

Fletcher Chilumpha
National Programme Specialist